Fuzzy Thoughts on Fuzzy Nation

Courtesy Tor Books

I picked up John Scalzi’s latest book, Fuzzy Nation, this weekend. This book is a reboot of the 1962 Hugo Award-winning Little Fuzzy by H. Beam Piper. I have mixed feelings about reboots; Battlestar Galactica did alright but Star Trek was less than stellar (no pun intended). Reviews of Fuzzy Nation have been mixed at best at Amazon. A liberal dose of 5-star reviews mixed in with a few 1-star commentary.

I have to admit I am one of the people who have very mixed feelings about this book. H. Beam Piper is one of my favorite sci-fi authors. After all, his story Space Viking is one of the main inspirations for the Traveller RPG series. On the other hand I also absolutely love Scalzi’s Old Man’s War.

One part I really don’t get is the quote on the dustjacket. Stephen King and John Scalzi don’t go together in my mind so I really have no idea what the quote is supposed to be telling me!

Leave a Reply

